Rohr Snubs Eagles In China

By Ikenga Chronicles March 1, 2017

Super Eagles’ Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr failed to include Super Eagles players who are currently with clubs in China for this month’s international friendly matches against Senegal and Burkina Faso in London.

As many as four Super Eagles stars moved to the Asian nation from Europe during the last transfer window, adding up to 5 in total Nigerians in
the topflight Chinese league.

READ ALSO: FIFA President Urges African Football To Grow

They include team captain, John Mikel Obi, Obafemi Martins, Anthony Ujah, Brown Ideye and Odion Ighalo.

Meanwhile, ‎Germany –based forward Noah Joel Bazee and Holland –based defender Tyronne Ebuehi will join up with the squad for the first time‎Goalkeeper Carl Ikeme, midfielder Ogenyi Onazi and forwards Ahmed Musa and Kelechi Iheanacho join experienced left back Elderson Echiejile, Portugal –based Chidozie Awaziem, Israel–based John Ogu and Watford FC of England forward Isaac Success in the list.

READ ALSO: I Am Ready To Replace Usain Bolt‎–Yohan Blake

Also included are home –based goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa, defenders Leon Balogun and William Ekong, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards Victor Moses, Alex Iwobi and Moses Simon also made the list alongside Victor Osimhen, record top scorer at the FIFA U17 World Cup, returns. The Super Eagles will battle Senegal’s Teranga Lions on Thursday, 23rdMarch before taking on the Etalons of Burkina Faso four days later. Both matches will be played at The Hive, home ground of Barnet Football Club.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Paul Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Uche Henry Agbo (Granada FC, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (FC Zeljeznicar, Bosnia Herzegovina); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Kingsley Madu (Zulte Waregem, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Noah Joel Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)

Write a comment

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment
View comments

Write a comment