PDP Wins all Chairmanship Seats in Taraba

By Ikenga Chronicles February 27, 2017

PDP Wins all Chairmanship Seats in Taraba

— Callistus Agwaza, Jalingo

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidates have been declared winners of 15 local government chairmanship seats contested in Saturday’s council elections in the state by the State Independent Electoral Commission, SIEC.

The Chairman of the commission Dr Philip Duwe, gave the final rundown of the results of the Feb. 25 council polls in Jalingo on Monday.

While Alhaji Salisu Dogo was declared winner of Ardo-Kola, Alhaji Mohammed Umar was declared Chairman-elect of Gashaka, Mr Nicholas Waniyafiwani, Lau, Alhaji Abdul Boboji, Jalingo, and Mr Danladi Suntai as Chairman-elect of Bali Local Governments.

Others are Mr Shiban Tikari as chairman-elect for Takum, Mr Stephen Agya, Kurmi, while Rimansikwe Karma was declared Chairman-elect for Ussa Local Government. Mr Joseph Mika was declared for Yorro, Mr Adi Daniel, Wukari, Mr Christopher Koshombo, Zing, Alhaji  Yahuza Yahaya, Gassol and Mr Nashuka Musa for Donga.

Duwe also declared John Yep for Sardauna and Idimali Danfulani Karim Lamido local Governments respectively.

The election was postponed in Ibi Local Government after violence broke out during the exercise.

The All Progressives Congress won three councillorship seats in Jalingo, while the SDP won one councillorship in Zing, and the PDP won all the other councillorship seats across the state.

Addressing the Press after the declaration, Dr Duwe noted that the election was not perfect since there were a lot of flaws but assured that the commission have learnt its lessons and would improve on them subsequently.

Duwe said that political interests in some areas such as Wukari didn’t want the process to hold and so the commission had to rely on the figures on ground for the declaration made.

Duwe commended the Press for high ethical and professionalism displayed throughout the period of the exercise, saying that the exercise would have been futile but for the proactive stance of the journalist who served as monitors and advisers in some cases.