Ondo Guber Elections:  Over 6000  APC Members Decamp to PDP

By Ikenga Chronicles October 14, 2016

Over 6,000 members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, on Thursday, October 13 defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in Idanre, Ondo State.

This came as National Chairman of the APC; Chief John Odigie-Oyegun inaugurated a 50-member campaign council for the governorship elections in the state.

The APC defectors were led by Adebowale Olowoeye popularly known as Olumose and Bidemi Oladapo.

Abayomi Akinsolie, who led over a thousand from Apefon area, said they took the action as the “Eyitayo Jegede’s wind blowing across the state is too real to be ignored.”

At the event which took place at the popular Depot, Broad Street, Idanre, Ebonyi ,Kwara and Osun natives who are apolitical but resident in the local government took turn to declare support for the Eyitayo candidature and registered as members of the party.

Represented by the Chief Of Staff, Dr Kola Ademujimi, Mimiko said the support given to his government by the people of the area is commendable, adding that there are enough signs on ground to suggest that they will extend their unfettered support for him to the PDP candidate.

Meanwhile, the governorship candidate of the APC in Ondo state, Rotimi Akeredolu, on Thursday , launched a fierce attack on his erstwhile colleague, Olusola Oke, saying the “dead cannot threaten the living.”

He said: “Olusola Oke is not a threat to us. I mean if he chooses to contest under a dead party that is his choice; there is nothing anybody can do about that but that is a threat that is not possible. The dead does not threaten the living. We are a living party, APC. We don’t fear any threat; we know that the contest probably might be between us and the PDP.”

This came as Chief Odigie-Oyegun, inaugurated the campaign committee for next month’s election.

Oyegun said: “I call it challenging because of the special circumstances that has brought us to this point today. Otherwise, Ondo state is ripe for the taking and added to the APC progressive family. The challenge I am passing on to you today is the obvious challenge that arose at the primary. But I trust that you and your team will overcome those difficulties and deliver Ondo to the APC family.”

The campaign committee which is led by the Plateau state Governor, Simon Lalong has nine governors and nine Ministers as well as members of the National Assembly, former governor as well as the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Yusuf Lasun.

The governors in the committee include Senator Abiola Ajimobi, Rauf Aregbesola, Ibikunle Amosun. Akinwunmi Ambode, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, Barrister M.A. Abubakar, Atiku Bagudu and Aminu Waziri Tambuwal with ministers including Prof. Claudius Daramola, Pastor Usani U. Usani, Kayode Fayemi, Babatunde Raji Fashola, Adebayo Shittu, Mrs Folakemi Adeosun, Prof. Isaac Adewole, Alhaji Lai Mohammed and Chris Ngige.

Write a comment

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment
View comments

Write a comment