Mahrez Is PFA Player of The Year

By Ikenga Chronicles April 25, 2016

Mahrez Is PFA Player of The Year

Leicester City’s Riyad Mahrez has won this year’s PFA Player of the Year award. The Algerian born attacker clinched the award ahead of Dimitri Payet, Harry Kane, Mesut Ozil and his team mates Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante.

Mahrez, who has been largely instrumental to Leicester City’s fairytale drive towards winning the Premier League this season dedicated the award to his team mates, and coach;

“All the credit is for them, seriously,” Mahrez said.

“And for my manager and the staff. Without them I wouldn’t receive this award and I wouldn’t score. It’s the team spirit, and I want to dedicate it to them…I’m very grateful to receive this award, it’s a pleasure. It’s extra special because if the players vote for me it’s because they’ve seen I’ve been great this year so I’m happy.”

The Algerian player has contributed 17 goals and 11 assists to the Foxes’ campaign, the latest of which came today, during the 4-0 drubbing of Swansea at the King Power stadium.

Meanwhile, Tottenham’s Dele Alli won the PFA Young Player of the year award. Alli, who has had a glittering year, succeeds his team mate, Harry Kane.

Write a comment

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment
View comments

Write a comment