CAF Player Of The Year Award: Nigeria Will Be Ready In 2019 – Ikpeba

By Ikenga Chronicles January 15, 2017

CAF Player Of The Year Award: Nigeria Will Be Ready In 2019 – Ikpeba

Former CAF African Footballer of the Year, Victor Ikpeba, said he is optimistic that Nigerian players would be ready for the continent’s best player award in 2019.
According to Ikpeba, a Nigerian last won the award exactly 20 years ago, who is no other person but Nwankwo Kanu.
Ikpeba, who won the CAF Player’s Award in 1997, when he was a superstar at millionaire French club, AS Monaco, said the rapid decline in the country’s football fortunes was responsible for the failure of the country’s players to win the prestigious award.
According to him it was further affected by players signing for clubs who are not the best in Europe, which affects their value.
His words “If you check closely, you will find out that when Nigerian players dominated the awards from 1994 to 1999, the country’s stars who won played in the best clubs in Europe at the time.”
“Emmanuel Amuneke won in 1994 when he was at Sporting Lisbon of Portugal, Nwankwo Kanu won when he was a player at Inter Milan of Italy and Arsenal FC in 1996 and 1999 respectively.”
“With the present situation in the Eagles, where our top stars are now doing well in the best clubs in Europe, the African Best Player’s Award will not elude Nigeria in 2019. By that time, all Eagles’ big stars would have reached superstardom which would also be good enough to win awards in Europe and not just in Africa.”
Write a comment

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment
View comments

Write a comment