BREAKING: Buhari Swears In Six New INEC Commissioners

By Ikenga Chronicles December 7, 2016

President Muhammadu Buhari has on Wednesday sworn in the newly-appointed Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) inside the Council chamber of the State House Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The nominees were earlier confirmed by the Senate and were sworn-in by the president as required by Section 154(1) of the 1999 Nigerian Constitution as amended.

The six nominees are Ogunmola Ladipo, May Agbamuche, Abubakar Nahuche and Okechukwu Ibianu. Others are Mohammed Haruna and Ahmad Muazu.

Speaking briefly after the swearing in,  Buhari said the appointees were persons of integrity and expressed belief that such integrity will come to bear in the discharge of their responsibilities.

‘’This administration will demand of you to be firm and fair. What this administration expects is that after we have left, Nigerians will look at the political history and know that we served Nigeria.”

“We want every Nigerian to [know that]they have been given the opportunity and security in their various constituencies to elect who they want to elect. The rest is left to their conscience and to God” the president said.

‘’We ask Nigerians for support to continue to improve the advances recorded in the electoral processes so far” he concluded

Write a comment

No Comments

No Comments Yet!

Let me tell You a sad story ! There are no comments yet, but You can be first one to comment this article.

Write a comment
View comments

Write a comment