Senate Suspends Decision On Presidential Nominees

By Ikenga Chronicles July 19, 2017

Senate Suspends Decision On Presidential Nominees

Barely a month after the Senate resolved to suspend consideration of the Presidency’s requests for confirmation of nominees, the Senate on Wednesday received the report on the screening of 12 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) from its Committee on the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Recall that on July 4th 2017, the upper chamber passed a resolution suspending  all confirmation requests from the Presidency until Acting President Yemi Osinbajo withdraws a statement credited to him that the Senate does not need to confirm nominees from the executive arm of government.

The Senate also asked the Presidency to sack the Acting Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Mr. Ibrahim Magu, in line with its resolution

The Senate took the resolution to suspend confirmation of Presidential nominees when Senate President, Bukola Saraki, read Osinbajo’s letter, urging the upper chamber to confirm the nomination of Lanre Gbajabiamila as Director-General of the National Lottery Commission (NLC).

Senator Ahmed Sani Yerima (Zamfara West) noted that since the acting President had already concluded that the Senate lacks the powers to confirm nominees, there was no need to acknowledge any letter from the executive on confirmation of nominees.

However, the Senate after over one hour closed session reversed itself by receiving the report of the RECs’ screening.

The resolution suspending confirmation requests reportedly featured prominently at the closed session.

The 12 RECs whose screening reports were received are – Mrs. Asmanu Sani Maikudi (Katsina), Sam Olugbadebo Olumekun (Ondo), Mahmud Isah (Kebbi), Rufus Oloruntoyin Akeju (Lagos) and Riskuwa Shehu (Sokoto).

Others are – Kassim Gana Geidam (Yobe), Jibrin Ibrahim Zarewa (Kano), Abdulganiyu Olayinka Raji (Oyo), Samuel Egwu (Kogi), Mike Igini (Delta), Mustapha Zubairu( Niger) and Ahmad Bello Mahmud (Zamfara).